1. Fin De Siècle I - Storm Cloud [2:08]
  2. Crisis [5:07] MP3 soundclip of Crisis [3:00]
  3. World At War [3:37]
  4. The Rapid [5:33]
  5. Consequences [3:09]
  6. The Good Old Times [3:15]
  7. Between The Wheels [6:51]
  8. Armed Peace [2:57]
  9. Stalemate [4:27]
  10. Sunrise In Futuria: In Search Of Deeper Truths [5:13]
  11. Sunrise In Futuria: The Visionary [2:27]
  12. Sunrise In Futuria: Chains Of The Mind [2:23]
  13. Sunrise In Futuria: Inner Revolution [4:11]
  14. Sunrise In Futuria: Aquarius [2:50]
  15. Fin De Siècle II - Awakening [4:48]

    Bonus track:
  16. Dimona Blues [5:50] MP3 soundclip of Dimona blues [0:45]
Composed, performed, produced and lyrics by Pepijn Courant

Originally recorded at home in Groningen in the winter of 1989-1990 and released on cassette in 1990. Mixed and partly re-recorded in Utrecht in the summer of 2001. Track 16 recorded in the summer of 2003. Edited and remastered in December 2003 to February 2004.
The music was inspired by the events that took place in the twentieth century, in particular in Eastern Europe, where communism had collapsed at the end of the eighties. The visionary poems by William Blake had a significant influence on this cd, which showed an optimistic view on the world. The music was well received on BRT 2 radio show "Maneuvers in het donker", presented by Flor Berkenbosch.

Press Information Aquarius is a CD re-release of an electronic music album original released back in 1990 on cassette, plus it contains a bonus track "Dimona blues" recorded in 2003. Pepijn Courant -- the man behind Akikaze -- is another classically trained EM musician, and so sometimes one can hear classical influences as well as from some well known synthesizer artists. For me the album is hit and miss but I can say that it sounds kind of fresh even though it's fourteen years old and has influences going back to the likes of earlier Wavestar, Jean Michael Jarre, Vangelis, and Tangerine Dream.

The track names make most sense when you know that the album was inspired by events during the 20th century, particularly in Eastern Europe during the late 1980s when communism collapsed in several countries. There are a lot of tracks too - seventeen including the bonus piece at the end. At first the album felt like a mishmash, however, after repeated listens I came to appreciate the way gliding synths, sequencing, or more classical and thematic elements have a purpose.
Musically one of the best tracks in my opinion is "Crisis", after beginning with various unsettling effects it really gets going with whistling spacey synths stretching across the soundscape as snatches of sequencing and synthetic drums add a sense of drama - this is a piece very reminiscent of Wavestar's Moonwind.
Rooted in EM territory there's enough variety of sounds and styles throughout the album, and on some tracks like "World at War" the subject is made clear by various effects - in this case the electronic sound of air raid sirens, guns etc.
The five tracks near the end making up "Sunrise in Futuria" see the emphasis switch much more to sequencing, somewhat in the vein of 1980s Tangerine Dream. All very well if you like that kind of thing but I preferred the previous tracks which make more use of synths in a variety of modes including soaring spaceiness, gothic type chords, and pensive thoughts.

On the whole Aquarius is pleasing and listenable, and one could also describe it as a concept album. Though a little dated in some respects it's worth checking out by EM fans who missed it the first time around.

Dene Bebbington