1. Destroyer [4:37]
  2. Core melt [7:22]
  3. The chamber [3:25]
  4. Breaking news [0:29]
  5. When the wind blows [8:35]
  6. Technocracy [7:31]
  7. The dice [1:38]
  8. Shelters [5:03]
  9. Three seconds [0:30]
  10. Sands of sinai [10:34]
  11. Dark ages [0:28]
  12. The unforseen [2:32]
  13. Into the deep [10:15]
  14. The second dawn [10:54]
Pertti Grönholm - synthesizers, samplers and tapes.
Ismo Virta - guitars and effects.

All compositions were written and performed by Pertti Grönholm except "Shelters", "Into the Deep" and "The Second Dawn", which were written and performed by Pertti Grönholm and Ismo Virta.
All tracks were recorded and mixed by Pertti Grönholm at Disaster Village, Turku, Finland between August 1996 and January 1997.
Mastered by Morten Lund and Harald Lervik at Masterhuset, Oslo, Norway.
Cover design and artwork by Harald Lervik. Dystopia photograph by Timo Jerkku. "Gasmask" photograph by Jyrki Valkama. "Devastation" photographs by Thomas Nilsen, Bellona.
Some tracks contain additional documentary material from various audiovisual sources.

Press Information Even before all this millenium buzz, it seems like a lot of movies and music have had apocalyptic themes. "The Second Dawn" takes the end of the world seriously, including a political term paper of sorts as liner notes. It is a thoughtful, surprisingly lengthy essay about the dangers of modern technology mixing with politics. The music, though dark, is not your typical dark ambient. Unlike the minimal noises and rough edges that permeate a lot of gothic music, this is a deliberately produced, sleek, thematic work.
Though the picture painted is bleak, it is done with a deft, artistic hand. Swirling, crisp synthesizer pads meld with sound bites of realistic-sounding news clips of nuclear disaster. "Breaking News" is a 30-second attempt to bring the same kind of reality to "The Second Dawn" that Orson Welles did when he terrorized America over a simple piece of sci-fi radio fiction. The chilling, dramatic effect works throughout, though it is far from subtle. Clearly, the two Scandanavians who make up Dystopia want you to think about this, and then think about it some more. The dark drones mixed with cool sounds and effects remind me to some extent of the excellent "Desideraturn" CD by Synaesthesia, one of my all-time favorites. Though I would not put this CD in quite the same stellar territory, it is a largely effective attempt to musically depict a nuclear apocalypse. If you like your electronic music smooth yet dark, with a touch of science fiction, you should enjoy "The Second Dawn".

1999. Phil Derby / Wind and Wire Dystopia is a Finnish duo consisting of Pertti Grönholm (synths) and Ismo Virta (guitar). Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that Finland and Norway are both countries with long stretched and very lonely parts of land which inspires musicians but the music of Dystopia resembles that of Biosphere.
The music contains a lot of thin and icey sounds. The difference is (happily) that the Fins don't use dancerhythms and that their music sometimes is more bombastic. An example is is the great track "Core Melt". Just as with Biosphere also frequently voices and atmopheric sounds can be heard. As the cd reaches the end the sounds are getting darker like in the titletrack. Recommendable.

1999. Paul Rijkens What a great CD for nuclear issues/50's scientific atmosphere. It has a slow hard rock edge, but it's mostly electronic in tone. Not for the faint hearted be very interesting.
This is the best Sci-Fi CD I have bought in a long time.
The first 8 tracks are great.

2003. George Hawkins / USA Jehoo!! This CD is good. I know Pertti Grönholm. I even asked him to give his autograph to my Dystopia - CD and he gave. :D

2004. Lauri Petri Olavi Ranta / Finland (Suomi)