1. CD ROM Track
  2. In The Beginning [1:24]
  3. Let There Be Light [4:52] MP3 soundclip of Let there be light [3:00]
  4. Supernova [3:29]
  5. Magellan [4:41]
  6. First Landing [1:16]
  7. Oceania [3:27]
  8. Only Time Will Tell [4:19]
  9. Prayer For The Earth [2:10]
  10. Lament For Atlantis [2:44]
  11. The Chamber [1:49]
  12. Hibernaculum [3:32]
  13. Tubular World [3:23]
  14. The Shining Ones [2:59]
  15. Crystal Clear [5:42]
  16. The Sunken Forest [2:39]
  17. Ascension [5:48]
  18. A New Beginning [1:33]
The Songs Of Distant Earth was recorded between June 1993 and June 1994.
Re-released version of 1995

Pandit Dinesh - Tablas
Molly Oldfield - Keyboards
Cori Josias, Ella Harper, David Nickless, Roame, Members of "Verulam Consort", The Tallis Scholars - vocals Is perfection quite possibly to hard to achieve? I would like to think this CD aims for that. I have never heard any of Oldfield's previous work, so I am a bit uneducated with his history.
Though this has to be one of my favorite CDs I have in my collection. Any time I play this for a friend of mine they can't believe how amazing this cd is. The beginning of the cd starts off as almost you are witnessing the beginning of time.
Oldfield uses several vocal sample originating from a choir member sound. His blend and beat of the music is done flawlessly.
The cd continues to becoming a really epic amazing piece. The eruption of this most amazing sound is so complex and beautiful you are just in shock you can be hearing something this prodigious. I would even be willing the to go real far and say this has a sound of holiness as in you are standing at the gates of heaven in awe. Seems like a far statement to say, but if you heard the track, you would probably agree. Then just as the music is building to this gigantic climax, the music goes into a soft, yet fast beat where it feels like you are swiftly flying over the water.

I highly suggest laying down somewhere in your home (don't be sleepy) and listening to the entire cd. The music will astound you so much you will just loose your sense of time and everything around you. Its that damn good people.

Wesley C Duncan One great space album from Mike Oldfield.

2005. Theodoros Sotiropoulos / Greece Oldfield is not an artist who has aged gracefully in the eyes of many of his fans; between what are perceived as weak albums and an endless stream of transparent Tubular Bells-related cash-ins, he has simply worn out his welcome except among the true believers. Songs of Distant Earth came out in the mid-90s when there wasn't a ton of hope, but the memories of the brilliant Amarok had not entirely faded. Truth be told, it's rather a nice release, consistent with Oldfield's other work, but fitting its time as well. There is a world music element that comes in here, less actual world music than Gabriel Real World through a filter of electronica, a little bit like Enigma or Cyrille Verdeaux's Ethnicolors project. There are, of course, influences from Celtic music, a variety of micro-themes tied together to create extended instrumental suites, and the requisite riff that sounds like the opening of Tubular Bells (you'll be waiting about 2/3 of the album if that's all you care about).
While there is arguably not a weak moment here, I think the album suffers a bit from a general flatness of intensity and dynamics; in other words, there is also arguably not a really strong moment here either. It's simply Oldfield-for-the-90s, half of a pair with Tubular Bells 3 (which I prefer, incidentally), not an embarrassment for the artist but limited by an aversion to risk.

2005. Sean McFee