1. Cloud Fragments [5:38]
  2. Lumina [6:01]
  3. Frontier [8:12]
  4. A Magma of Interiors [6:24]
  5. Submerged [7:13]
  6. Fragile Light [7:08]
  7. Visage Spectral [5:56]
  8. Whisper out of Time [6:37]
  9. Nine Chains to the Moon [3:33]
  10. Nirhoda [4:58]
  11. Nightfall [6:00]
  12. Bricolage [4:36]
After you've listened to The silent shore: Fortunately, its quality will have you returning for more. Better yet is his newest release, "Frontier", which all melts into one long 72-minute montage of ambient bliss. Thompson's work here is more dynamic and abstract, its waves of sounds describing more than just its cover's underwater city. There are ringing tones, muffled and muted patches that float gently on the surface of dead quiet, with monolithic structures that glide into the fabric. The many other structures show a knowledge of music that defies conventional description, hinting at hypnagogic imagery, incidental soundtrack music, and ancient genetic memory. Robert Scott Thompson looks well on his way to making an impact in the next decade.

1999 Peter Thelen Expose It does not seem that long ago that I reviewed Robert's previous release ''The Silent Shore'', it's ambient textures making a immediate impression. 'Cloud Fragments' opens the proceedings with a relaxing refrain, sounds that ebb and flow. Comparisons with Steve Roach are inevitable, but this guy pulls it off in some style. 'Lumina' displays a darker edge, deep resonances, and discordant chords that power through the music. The impending feeling of uneaseness is kept for 'A Magma of Interiors', just which horror soundtrack is Robert aiming for?!

'Submerged' enters the fray, again a disjointed series of synth voices sounds through, before some form of order begins to take shape, and a fairly smooth ending finishes the track. As it's title suggests 'Fragile Light' contains a gentle cyclic theme, as the sleeve notes say,''A soothing, gentle atmosphere.'' It has to be understood that the albums tracks segues into each other, for in it's essence Frontier is a one continuous musical collage, each separate track working off the next. Compared with Roberts ''The Silent Shore'' I feel that ''Frontier'' is the more focused album. The traditional ambient elements are all here in abundance, any fans of Steve Roach's drifting/floating pure electronic style, should be well rewarded upon listening to this disc.
I look forward to hearing more from Robert in the future.

1999 Gary Andrews Sequences No. 21, UK