1. Echo Waves [20:33]
  2. Twelve Samples [18:34]
  3. Timbuktu [8:04]
  4. Niemand lacht rückwärts [20:41] MP3 soundclip of Niemand lacht ruckwarts [3:01]
Recorded: February 1997, Osaka and Tokyo, Japan.
Manuel Göttsching, Lutz Ulbrich, Harald Grosskopf, Steve Baltes. Kicking off with Göttsching's trademark echo-guitar rhythm, Echo Waves builds with a gradual layering of sequencers, drums and keyboards until the whole hurtling, swinging melange reaches the point where - if you know ASHRA - the addition of Göttsching's freestyle guitar is wonderfully inevitable.

David Elliott / The Wire (UK)