1. A wider perspective
  2. I am already there
  3. Exoplanet
  4. Discovering the unkown space
  5. Seen from a distance
  6. Silent Symphonies
  7. Pulsar
  8. Nebula
  9. Distance ad time
  10. Event Horizon
  11. Artificial star traveler
  12. Beyond the horizon of knowledge
This record was created 2011-2012 on the Åland Islands, an island in the Baltic Sea.
The record is largely inspired by Arthur C. Clarke's 2010th.
It is also based on my passion for the universe, its greatness, colors and unbelievable distance.

The record is instrumental, and offers listeners a mix of electronic tones, ambient colorings and a poetic journey through music.

2012. Press Information The cyberspace abounds in hidden talent which are known of word of mouth and it’s the case with “Far Away” from the Finnish synthesist Johan Tronestam. The music is a vocation in Tronestam family. Son of a musician who pushed him to learn violin, Johan Tronestam preferred by far to play electric organ. That’s how his passion gave him the chance to play keyboards for diverse local bands and to acquire a first synth at the dawn of the 80s, a Korg Trident synth. At the same time, the discovery of Jean Michel Jarre’s Oxygene was going to change his artistic vision and musical approach. And it’s in the heart of these influences that soaks “Far Away”. It's a powerful and lively EM album with 12 titles vibrating on rhythmic structures boosted by undisciplined sequences and percussions which eventually unify a surprising rhythmic symbiosis where screeches, roars and whispers some winds of Orion to multiple forms, as much aerated as vocalised. In brief, “Far Away” is a strong opus where the cosmic rock keeps pace with its secret atmospheres.

"A Wider Perspective" throws us straight out in the impressive musical painting of “Far Away” with a heavy aboulic rhythmic which pulses under a very good synth with melodious and starry lines. We are in full well cadenced weightlessness with a troop of percussions with echoic castanets and wet pulsations which sparkle under the charms of synth to plaintive soloic melodies, such as lamentations of spectres trapped in cyberspace. A superb line of sequences gets loose to wave in solitary and winds a loud rhythm which forges a catchy tempo and of which the cosmic melodies from synths envelop of an enchanting ear worm while quietly and too abruptly "A Wider Perspective" disappears in the forgetting. You want more? Well "I am Already There" puts back that. This time the rhythm is smoother with a bass line which waves of its muffled pulsations, gauging the weight of the cold chords which forge a cybernetic melody. Like on all of the titles on “Far Away”, Johan Tronestam plays with his rhythmic approaches giving them several tangents which are intertwining in a surprising symmetry. And the atmosphere is very cosmic with ghostly solos, ethereal voices and silvery fogs which surround a rhythmic with edged modulations, little as if Kraftwerk would jam with Tim Blake. It’s very beautiful and very effective. The intro of "Exoplanet" offers a first atmospheric incursion with foggy and misty layers of synth, with an always harmonious cachet, which coo in a cosmic corridor. Violent strikings of metallic cymbals are perturbing this brief lifelessness, carrying this heavy cosmic worm towards a line of sequences among which the alternating keys, which eventually will getting tangled, moulds a rotary rhythm and forges a very beautiful harmonious approach under a copious feast of solos. We continue to swim in a full rhythmic biodiversity with "Discovering the Unkown Space" and its lines of synth to breaths of saxophone and contemplative mists which hang to a rhythm bubbling with sequences and percussions at the antipodes of their cohesions.
"Seen from a Distance" contributes to this rhythmic diversity with sequences which forge a great line of cosmic waves of which the undulations roll beneath the weight of strong percussions. Still there, the percussions inject varied knocks and tones which modify the axis of a rhythm always caressed by a synth with cosmic essences. "Silent Symphonies" is a beautiful cosmic melody dressed in a subjugating youthful ease. The arpeggios which swirl such as snowflakes in a starry labyrinth remind me of Tomita’s fragile harmonies. It’s straightforward, always cosmic, and very catchy. And throughout “Far Away” our ears are confronted with the reminiscences which furnish the rhythms and melodies of this Johan Tronestam's very beautiful album which lines up catchy titles with a disconcerting ease. "Pulsar" is another nice melody which is stirring on percussions of which the arrhythmic strikings are hammering a light chaotic rhythm. The synth there is delicate and infuses a soft ambiences pattered of romance with breezes a bit Iberian which sing under a bed of mist while the rhythm, always in evolutionary mode, is jolting fine circular jumps. Robotics chirpings are surprising the hearing in order to introduce the synth pop approach of "Nebula" which offers a rhythm supported by symmetric sequences and percussions fluttering under the soft harmonic breaths harmonious of a melody which whistles with innocence. It’s a beautiful electronic ballad which is not commonplace because Tronestam digs constantly his compositions to surprise the listener with unexpected forms. Delicate, "Distant and Time" is the meeting point between "Nebula" and "Silent Symphonies". "Event Horizon" is a superb cosmic down-tempo with a rhythm between two phases where felted percussions and circular sequences are rocked by distant voices and caressed by a soft synth to Hispanic fragrances. These synth breezes to the colors of Iberian lands warm the robotics rhythm of "Artificial Star Traveler" which awakens recollections of Kraftwerk on The Robot. "Beyond the horizon of Knowledge" ends on a rhythmic approach as fine as heavy with a spiral of sequences to brief rhythmic stops where the structure is revitalizing itself to charge even more like a train on embossed rails. Less cosmic, the structure remains not less ethereal with mislaid voices which hum under the twists of a synth in forms and solos as much captivating as melodic.

“Far Away” is more than a pleasant surprise. It’s a striking album of cosmic-rock with contagious harmonies. Johan Tronestam polishes up 12 very good titles which flow with the same musical biodiversity as if we would merge Tim Blake and Jean Michel Jarre to make relive the era of Michael Garrison with a more rhythmic heaviness because of great sequencing and percussions, but the skeleton remains the same. It’s a lively album with a very beautiful layout of titles which parade like if we were in an intergalactic disco-lounge bar. It’s the beautiful surprise of 2012 in regard of a sequenced base EM. To discover!

2012. Sylvain Lupari / gutsofdarkness.com & synth&sequences.com