CD #1
  1. Above the Great Dry Land
  2. Chasing the Bad Seed
  3. Slave to the Gods
  4. Hope and Glory MP3 soundclip of Hope and glory [3:00]
  5. Sun Son's Seal (Part One)
  6. Beyond All Suns
  7. Sisyphus
  8. All the Steps to Heaven
  9. Mountain of Destiny
    CD #2
  1. The Glowing Zodiac Wheel
  2. Modern Cave Men
  3. Death of Medusa
  4. Blinded by World's Desire
  5. Sun Son's Seal (Part Two)
  6. Soulgate
  7. Till the End of Silence
  8. Prison and Paradise
  9. Spirit Spiral
Recorded at Eastgate Studios, Vienna/Berlin

Edgar Froese
Jerome Froese
Iris Camaa

Jayney Klimek - alto/choral voice
Barbara Kindermann - soprano/choral voice
Iris Camaa - alto/soprano/choral voice
Tatjana Kouchev - alto/choral voice
Saskia Klumpp - alto/choral voice
Bianca Acquaye - alto/choral voice/recitation

Tangerine Dream has completed their work on the second installment of their epic trilogy based on Dante Alighieri's "La Divina Commedia": Purgatorio.
Purgatorio is a musical piece of epic proportions with a total length of more than 2 hours, once again combining TD's trademark sound with orchestral and choral elements, as well as outstanding vocal performances. Edgar and Jerome Froese are joined by an ensemble of five guest musicians to create a truly magnificent piece of musical art.

Press Information I've sat and I've listened,lets make no mistake,this is the best thing I've heard for a long long time. EF JF have yet again shown those comical clown like doubters that the GREATEST are still up to the manificent standard they have always set.
I love these guys.

2004. Colin Jouxson This is the second release of Dante's devina commedia by TD. And yes it is very good one. The music is a bit different if you compare it with Inferno, but the book is also changing in style. This music on a higher level. It's a pity they didn't made it a live recording like Inferno.

The strongest things in this album are the sequence parts, their great and telling you what Dante means in his book. The slow pieces are even on the same level as Inferno, and are so well done by the singers that it gave sometimes tears in my eyes. I call this one a little Opera, like Inferno was more of a Passion. This work tells you strongly who you are and how we thinking in these days. That becomes a work of a writer from century's ago made a work that fits still in this time. Edgar and Jerome have done a great job to put the work of Dante on music.

This is a classical TD release for years, and maybe the work will be called classical after all.

2004. Hans Sijtsma / The Netherlands One of their best to date. Edgar & jerome show their genius again. I listen to this more than any other CD album & after seeing this performed live in the Royal festival hall last march it brings it all back to mind that great premier night.
I'm really looking forward to the next chapter "Pardisio"
well done lads

2004. Geoffrey Keogh / Ireland (Dublin) After experiencing hell, the trip goes for Dante's part into to the purgatory, and what he's doing here, I have still not read in the Divine Comedy, so let's concentrate on the attractive music, instead.

Above The Great Dry Land is an instrumental album track. To begin with, there are noises enveloped in echo, replaced by fantastic epic music. The music is very tempting and the listener is already hypnotized.
In Chasing The Bad Seed, the first track with singing is represented. Jayney Klimeks vocal is underacted (one could be tempted to call her a female crooner!)
The diction is much clearer than on Inferno, which makes me listen more carefully. The melodies are much more catchy, and it doesn't last long before you sing along. The sound is indeed fresh and updated, Iris Camaa Kulturer delivers some of her best drum performances together with Edgar and Jerome, who's in charge of the deliciously, crisp electronic sound, all the way through album.
The bridge to Slave to the Gods reminds of the bridges TD use in live context, and it's distinctly calm. Don't be fooled by the English title, as it's not sung in English. Just like on Inferno, TD goes away to the background, in favour of the beautiful Italian operatic vocal.
In Hope and Glory Iris Camaa Kulturer sings with much conviction in a sensual Spanish tongue, and in spite of all it's incomprehensibility, the epic quality is not lost, and you still keep listening.
After a atmospheric bridge, and a suitable well programmed drum intro, we find ourselves in the sequencer heavy, Sun Son's Seal (part one), a modern update of the well-known TD-sound.
Beyond All Suns is of the same kind as Slave to the Gods, while Sisyphus is a pretty poppy Spanish song, with autotuner on the vocal (also known as "the Cher-effect" to clear things up). Iris sings with seducing intensity, and all this is groundbreaking on a TD album.
More pop in All The Steps To Heaven, which has an enormous amount of melodicism, which could be (one of) the demanded singles, if TD were still on Virgin. Yet, it would be in an edited form, because the ending is differently sinister. Horror film clichés and demonic sounds provoke your thoughts: What is Purgatorio all about, and what goes on right here?
Final track on disc one is called Mountain of Destiny, which is grand and dramatic with the operatic vocal, without being pompous. This beautiful track puts a beautiful stop to 72 minutes.

I will not describe disc two as detailed. It has the same qualities as disc one, but I will call attention to Sun Son's Seal (part two), which mix part one with operatic vocal, and later English vocal. It becomes a unique track, which lead my thoughts towards Klaus Schulze's Blackdance, although his approach to opera and electronic music is much more masculine and avantgarde.
More opera is to be find in Modern Cave Men, where the wordless singing, makes the hairs stand up on your arms and everywhere else.
Prison And Paradise could be another single, because it is the best and most catchy song of the album, with the memorable chorus: "...I bear this burden, here among the dead / because I did not bear this load among the living". A exhibition of sheer brilliance, I've often heard on repeat.
Purgatorio is concluded with a pompous track recited by Edgar's wife and muse Bianca Acquaye, who also did the cubistic paintings in the booklet.

Purgatorio has deserved a well-earned number three on my top ten of TD-releases, which is a result of the fact that it is much more elaborate than the standard. The production and arrangements are spot-on, and the female vocals is a refreshing counterpart, to the masculine music Tangerine Dream is known for. Purgatorio has been performed live twice. First time as heard on TT vol. 60, recorded the 6th March of 2004, in London, with no deviations from the album. When they performed it in Essen on the 14th October of 2005 (TL vol. 74) only a little sax by Linda Spa were added.
With this said, the studio version wins any day, as you can't go on compromise with the sound. It HAS to be crystal clear!

2006. Jacob Pertou / Denmark