1. Lowlands [8:47]
  2. Nostalgia [5:55]
  3. Desertdust [12:20] MP3 soundclip of Desertdust [3:00]
  4. Rick's Theme [5:00]
  5. Quiet Waters [7:56]
  6. Alexandria [8:43]
  7. Cryptonite [8:43] MP3 soundclip of Cryptonite [3:00]
  8. After Age [4:43]
  9. L.F.O. [10:33] MP3 soundclip of L.F.O. [3:00]
  10. Anklung [4:23]
All songs written and conducted by Dirk H.J. Nusink
Digital mastering and editing by Ron Boots Debut-CD by Dutch amateur-musician Dirk H.J. Nusink offering a unique approach towards nowadays electronic music, ranging from dreamy to more melodic/rhythmic stuff.

1998. Bert Strolenberg Tranzit's first album is quite nice for a debut effort. Tranzit's main influences come from the '70s and '80s, and this album certainly takes one back to those early electronic composition days. In particular, fans of the mid '80s progressive electronic period ought to check this out.

The first song, "Lowlands" starts off with a very nice arpeggiated sequence. The rhythm builds from this and the overlaid instrumentation on top of the song keeps it fresh. "Nostalgia" follows, evoking the feelings of a cold arctic day with wind sounds and high-end strings. "DesertDust" is classic progressive electronic starting out with a small sequence, gradually adding in elements and building up to a nice, pleasing texture. Overall, it's one of the better songs on the album.

"Rick's Theme" is mostly solo piano with some soft added synthesizer elements. "Quiet Waters" is a constantly evolving, phased, yet lightly textured song. "Alexandria" has a slow, short synthesizer theme with an electronic groove. "Cryptonite" is next: a sequenced synthesizer piece very similar to Tangerine Dream's work on Miracle Mile. "After Age" follows and is a different synthesizer piece from the rest. It reminded me more of Mars Lasar's recent work. "L.F.O." is a nice, slow piece that begins with quiet textures and ends with slow, new wave jazz grooves. The album concludes with "Anklung" a bright-textured chordal synthesizer piece.

There are a couple of downsides to this album. First, the recording quality is occasionally under par, though mostly acceptable. Second, the pieces sometimes get a tad over-repetitive, especially considering that the later songs are, in general, weaker than the first few. Some editing work and repositioning could've possibly made the album stronger.
The instrumentation is quite nice, evoking a wide variety of textures and moods. The cover artwork, featuring reflective glaciers, is quite nice and sets the mood well.

1998. Chad Gould / Wind und Wire Those of you who have heard this album and who know my tastes in music may wonder "what the hell is he doing, writing a review of a New Age album?".
So, let's cut the talking right away - this ain't New Age. Maybe this album has New Age sensibilities, but Dirk H.J. Nusink (the musician behind Tranzit) doesn't deliver any spiritual stuff often associated with the term "New Age" music. He doesn't suggest any meditation or self-finding etc., he just provides an album of mellow melodic electronics.
Yes, it IS New Age-like, but in a good sense. In fact, this is EM that your wife or girlfriend might even like.

"Lowlands" starts the proceedings in the appropriately quiet and melodic way. Then we have "Nostalgia" which is a very atmospheric number. Nothing special here, but ok. "Desertdust", the longer track that clocks at 12.20 starts in a very unusual way with resonating metallic "slamming door" sounds, then a simple sequence emerges on top of which more sound and melodies are added. The track does drag on a bit, though, could have been shorter.
Next is "Rick's Theme" which is a fantastic track. Very pleasant and emotional piano playing is augmented by appropriate synth tones. Overall,one of the best piano pieces I've heard.
"Quiet Waters" features phased synth pads and several other electronic sounds and effects. "Alexandria" is a very good atmospheric number with slow rhythm, while "Cryptonite", the next track, is very rhythmic and upbeat. Could have been a bit shorter, though.

"After Age" seems a bit disjointed, but it has it's moments. "L.F.O." is a typical example of this kind of "New Age EM". The track is spiced up by some decent electronic effects. Overall, a good track.
"Anklung" finishes the album in a rather optimistic way. It features some electronic effects over which a new-agey melody plays. This song tries to lift the listener up as if saying "Look, life is beautiful, cheer up!" Unfortunately, the track doesn't quite succeed in what its all about, as it didn't do nothing for me.

Overall, for a debut album, this is pretty good and if you like melodic, delicate electronics and don't mind some new-ageisms, you owe it to yourself to check "Voyage" out.

2002. Artemi Pugachov / Encyclopedia of Electronic Music