Dead Can Dance – Anastasis


Released: 2012 By Play It Again Sam

Available on backorder

SKU: 65686 Category: Tag:


  1. Children Of The Sun [7:34]
  2. Anabasis [6:50]
  3. Agape [6:53]
  4. Amnesia [6:36]
  5. Kiko [8:03]
  6. Opium [5:42]
  7. Return Of The She-King [7:47]
  8. All In Good Time [6:34]

The new Dead Can Dance album after 16 Years!! Epic sounds with the wonderful haunting voice of Lisa Gerard and Brendan Perry mesmerise the listeners.

Additional information

Weight 105 g




1 review for Dead Can Dance – Anastasis

  1. Maddy Costa / The Guardian

    Anastasis: the Greek word for resurrection. Before you even press play, you’ve understood three things about Dead Can Dance’s first album in 16 years: it’s erudite, portentous in its introspection, and finds a band whose back catalogue is a kind of musical world tour swimming around in the Aegean sea. Actually, the most exquisite music here could be Anatolian: it feels more ancient than modern, equally Turkish and Greek.

    On Anabasis (a word denoting journeys), Lisa Gerrard’s voice wisps and curls like smoke from a hookah; on Kiko she wails like a high priestess over drums that suggest a march to a sacrifice and a rembetika riff. Best of all is Agape (love), whose melodramatically keening violin line reeks of the port of old Smyrna. Add Brendan Perry singing of memory and restless spirits in a voice so deep it seems to come from the foundations of buried temples, and this album could be hypnotic if only it plodded less and soared more.

    2012. Maddy Costa / The Guardian

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *