FD.Project – T & Y

 8,90 13,75

Released: 2009 By F.D. Project



  1. Stars and Sky [16:57]MP3 soundclip of Stars and sky [1:03]
  2. Planet Earth [7:38]
  3. Polarstern [8:43]
  4. Fearless [8:24]
  5. Remember [7:00]
  6. Dream with me [2:41]


  7. Dream in a Dream [5:02]
  8. Around the World [5:14]
  9. Waterfall [7:09]
  10. Early Years [4:46]
  11. Wishes [3:47]

Excellent melodies and rhythms combined with electric guitar

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

1 review for FD.Project – T & Y

  1. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

    T And Y is FD Project new-born of. An album divided into 2 parts: Today with 6 new tracks and Yesterday with 5 unreleased titles written since 2003. If Heavensgate surrounded us with a very Berlin School aura, this Frank Dorittke‘s last opus leads us into a musical world dominated by the influence that Mike Oldfield had on the German multi-instrumentalist. An album with rhythms organized on beautiful sequences sometimes unpredictable, sometimes minimalism, into languishing layers dominated by an electric guitar sometimes dreamy, sometimes explosive.

    And that begins with Stars and Sky who opens as a new Tubular Bells. A dark linear opening tinged with fine scattered keys which wave on hardly perceptible oscillations from where appears an innocent nursery rhyme on a minimalist piano, coupled by the wavy and sensual bass line which ground Mike Oldfield‘s 1st version. Except that around the 5th minute the rhythm changes end for end with the appearance of a violin on wild lively percussions, feeding a furious incursion in an Irish clan soil. A folk dance for gnomes which becomes milder before sinking into an ambient darkness, streaked by lamentations of an electric six strings and a mellotronned voice which extends over a melancholic piano. Languishingly, the movement gets back to life with a heavy guitar which draws the pace under an orchestral choir, before switching towards another stroboscopic rhythmic, depicting the whim and the taste of FD Project for permuting rhythms which puzzle constantly the listener. A beautiful title which paves the way to a multitude tracks to very different structures which respect the diversity of cadences in a dense and well fed sound universe.
    Planet Earth offers a minimalism intro as Big Ben tick tack keys. An intro which pounds slowly on a jerkier sequencer, but which the fury is held by a mellotronned cloud. The title soaks in a statism to boiling tones with fine crystalline sequences which are beaten by heavy guitar solos.
    Tinkled keys flicker around the dark line of Polarstern. Vocal add an intriguing dimension to a rhythm which grows as a clock which wants to outstrip its movement in a veiled atmosphere of mellotron layers and with solos of guitars which spin passionately.
    A title near the Berlin School style quite as Fearless with its loopy sequences which hem in an ambient universe in spite of a feverish sequencer which surrounds a pulsation that wont explode. All the opposite of Remember with his hatched circular rhythm which swirls on an ascending sequence fiddle by heavy solos and by caustic riffs. After the sweet nursery rhyme to chiseled guitars which is Dream with me, we penetrate into the vaults of the first FD Project compositions that privileged the big guitars on fine rotary sequences.
    Dream in a Dream begin with hesitation. A sweet composition where the premise is a guitar which rolls on a circular movement with of sulphurous solos. A piece near the Oldfieldian soil.
    Around the World presents a more syncopated structure which spins circles on guitars solos.
    Waterfall amazes with his foggy intro tinged with argentine keys which cavort on a structure to slow crescendo on a bass sequence to light caper. A bewitching synth wraps the track, accompanying us in dreamland, with illusions and with fantasies. A very beautiful title, forgotten on Frank Dorittke‘s tablets.
    Early Years has a very Kraftwerk approach with a zest of Neu and Michael Rother. A nervous title on an unbridled rhythm, punctuated with big incisive guitar solos which become muddled in rather shy synth solo.
    Wishes concludes this retro actual work with a beautiful sequence la Michael Rother which emphasizes an introverted tempo, but with an effective melody.

    T And Y represent the very parallel visions of FD Project. From yesterday to today Frank Dorittke exploits a musical universe which winds between Berlin School, the teutronic rhythms and the clan gnomish approach of Mike Oldfield. An audacious mixture which flows into sometimes complex, but always harmonious universe, where the guitar is a master key in a sphere filled with interchangeable sequences bubbling synthesized mellotron.

    2009. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *