Javi Canovas – Eigenspaces


Released: 2008 By Synth Music Direct

Available on backorder

SKU: 24975 Category: Tag:


  1. Living In the Emptiness
  2. Where Was the Time?MP3 soundclip of Where was the time? [1:00]
  3. Lost SignMP3 soundclip of Lost sign [1:09]
  4. Blue T.MP3 soundclip of Blue T. [0:57]
  5. Vector
  6. Forgotten Future
  7. Parallel World
  8. Interposition

Berlin School

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

2 reviews for Javi Canovas – Eigenspaces

  1. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

    My friends who are fans of EM find that I miss something by ignoring the music of the Spanish synthesist. I had heard his first 2 albums and honestly I didn’t hook on this kind of EM to heavy curls. I had found it flashiness and without big creative convictions. Eigenscapes thus arrives on my deck and I have to admit that the style of Javi Canovas magnificently evolved well. His music became warmer, less synthetic. An audacious mixture between cosmic and space music filled of metallic droning waves which collide on rhythmic structures bordering rock and funk, in a Mellotron atmosphere which reminds certain passages of TD and even Schulze, in particular on Where Was The Time.

    A somber synthesized wave displays the first measures of Living in the Emptiness. A nebulous intro shaken by a fine sequential approach, to crystalline tinklings, and a synth with echoing reverberations which drop eroded solos. Imprecise, the musical pattern sinks into the gaps of a space in the abstract sonorities, as gurgles of cosmic frogs. The tempo reappears on a loud and nervous sequence, coated by a metallic synth to resounding stratas which roar in a heterogeneous musical world, on a rhythmic structure which skips as a spastic rodeo in a cosmic universe streaked with shooting solos.
    Where Was the Time is a strange berceuse which spins in ascending spiral on a light flow sequence. The sound environment there is surprising with its electronic locusts who sing constantly on a synth with absolutely divine lyrical breaths, whose are very hooking.
    Lost Sign is more furious with a heavy sequence which waves in good speed in a very delicate synthesized pad. The synth is molding to this rhythmic structure with a surprising concordance, creating a subdivision sequential in a sound universe in constant boiling with circles and streaks to syncretic musical ritornellos and good solos which enclose this track.
    Heavy sequence which moves as a clumsy cat, Blue T is a heavy title with a funky electronic rock pace. A soft Mellotron, very TD, coats this dynamics structure, creating the illusion of two opposite cadences which merge in a total harmony. A good track that has guts and which is out of the ordinary, quite as the frenetic, funky and furious Forgotten Future and Interposition.
    Vector is a very romantic sweetness. A soft piano pierce a profound vaporous mist and releases arpeggios to very nostalgic intonations. A beautiful piece which reminds me Ian Boddy‘s delicacies.
    After a hollow intro to metallic resonances, a wave-like and slightly hopping sequence lights the tempo of Parallel World, accompanied by synths to very TD breaths which precede another sequence to light crystalline shimmering coated by a synth of a jazzy fluid and circular solos, as we also find on Interposition.

    Diversified, colored and very rhythmic, Eigenscapes is an album to multiple musical approaches demonstrating that Javi Canovas is not just another synthesist among so many others. But an audacious musician who is not afraid of deepening his ideas by adding touches of funk, rock and jazz, in a constantly evolving sound universe.

    2009. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

  2. Artemi Pugachov

    Javi Canovas has just released his newest download album which can also be bought on a CD-R (check out Groove’s catalog for availability). I’ve got the opportunity to review it and, as I like Javi’s music very much, it was a big pleasure for me.

    Living In the Emptiness” begins with subtle pads in typical Javi Canovas style. Soon

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *