Jon & Vangelis – Friends of mr. Cairo


Released: 1981 By Polydor

2 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 39680 Categories: , Tag:


  1. I’ll Find My Way Home [4:31]
  2. State of Independence [7:56]
  3. Beside [4:12]
  4. The Mayflower [6:38]
  5. The Friends of Mr. Cairo [12:09]
  6. Back To School [5:09]
  7. Outside of this (Inside of that) [5:03]


Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

1 review for Jon & Vangelis – Friends of mr. Cairo

  1. Ivar de Vries

    This album is the second in a series of (at the time of writing) four Jon & Vangelis collaborations. It is certainly more conventional in nature than its predecessor ‘Short Stories’ because the songs on it are more self-contained and structured. At the same time the album is also more diverse as it presents a wider array of structures, ranging from world-music (in ‘State Of Independence’, sort of anticipating Paul Simon and later covered by Donna Summer) to classical (in ‘The Mayflower’) to straight boogie-woogie (in the strange but funny ‘Back To School’) and more.
    The hitsingle ‘I’ll Find My Way Home’ (which wasn’t included on the first LP-pressings of the album) has that Vangelis touch of genius to it: a simple tune set to a repeated high-pitched 4-chord figure alongside multiple Jon Anderson vocals – all to very striking effect. Here and on most other tracks Vangelis makes use of his typical sweet electronic piano sounds.
    Even Jon Anderson’s lyrics sometimes make sense here, being mostly about belonging” somewhere

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *