Nattefrost & Matzumi – From Distant times

 8,90 10,00

Released: 2012 By Groove Unlimited

SKU: GR-190 Categories: , , , Tags: ,


  1. First Movement
  2. Evolution
  3. The Ancient Land
  4. The Portal
  5. Rise of the Phoenix
  6. Time Passing
  7. Medieval
  8. The New Dawn
  9. Cold Midwinter Nights

A mesmerizing mix of talents make this an irresistible release. Melodic and powerfull tracks that have IT!!

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

2 reviews for Nattefrost & Matzumi – From Distant times

  1. Sylvain Lupari / & synth&

    I like comparing the musical approach of Nattefrost to that of Jean Michel Jarre. Like the French synthesist used to do at the beginning of his career, Bjorn Jeppesen produces a title that hooks from the first listening on each of his albums. A title that would be a radio hit if the FM stations were still interested in EM as in the years of free thought and cultural creativity. And From Distant Times does not make an exception to this rule. Flanked by Matzumi (Kathrin Manz), the Danish synthman pursues his electronic odyssey in the lands of cosmic rhythms. Its without surprises that this tandem, who had stunned our senses with the powerful Die der Erde” (Dying Sun / Scarlet Moon)

  2. Bert Strolenberg /

    From Distant Times is the first full-length album by Nattefrost (aka Danish synthesist Bjrn Jeppesen) and Matzumi (aka German composer Kathrin Manz), realized between September 2010 and February 2012. Starting out in a symphonic manner on the first track, the music already shifts to an accessible type of melodic, sequencer-driven music from the second track on. One can clearly hear the stark fingerprint of Nattefrost shining through the 9-track/61-minute outcome, mixing pssst-pssst-percussion, choir textures, symphonic soundscapes, occasional female singing and powerful synth pads. The music is of a tasty and driving nature, sometimes to almost dancing effect, while it also reveals some mellow sides now and then. Rise of the Phoenix and Time Passing, both found in the middle of the album, are without doubt the highlights of the release: they sophisticatedly merge the driving elements to tantalizing effect. On the other hand, the smoot h soaring solo on The New Dawn though sounds like Robert Schroeder is joining the duo briefly.

    All in all, From Distant Times is a fine draft of contemporary electronic music that will kick some ass in the general melodic genre, and most certainly turn out to be another winning release from the established Groove Unlimited label.

    2012. Bert Strolenberg /

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *