Pyramid Peak – Caveland


Released: 2005 By Exel Stupplich

2 in stock

SKU: 81660 Category: Tags: ,


  1. Caveland [13:03]
  2. Beats of the hill [9:46]
  3. Natural shapes [3:17]
  4. Lord of nature [10:50]MP3 soundclip of Lord of nature [3:00]
  5. In a dark time [13:01]
  6. Serpents of the den [3:43]
  7. Flowing with birds [5:19]
  8. The mind enters itself [5:30]
  9. Drifting [9:10]

8 studio tracks, 1 live track

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

2 reviews for Pyramid Peak – Caveland

  1. DL

    The sound of water droplets provides an appropriate start to the opening title track. Soft pads act like a lonesome sigh. After a very atmospheric four minutes a tuneful sequence starts up joined by narration which sets the scene. The sequences surge and a slow lead line floats over the top.
    A collage of chaotic sounds gets ‘Beasts on the Hill’ underway. These then depart as a bright melodic sequence shines through like the sun shinning between the clouds after a storm. There are some vocal samples then the dark effects return. We are left to float on mournful pads. A slow bass line can just be heard low in the mix then another melodic sequence (almost like something you would find on a Software album) rises to the surface. Beautiful but subtle lead lines make an entrance. This really is wonderful stuff.
    ‘Natural Shapes’ incorporates a brooding pulse with contrasting light pads and shimmers. It’s is a lovely delicate little number.
    As we drift into ‘Lord of Nature’ things take a more symphonic twist. A tinkling sequence takes us forwards. Virtual electric guitar gives that added bite. A melodic lead line softens things again but even so the piece seems to be gaining momentum as it progresses towards the half way mark.
    After this the sequence sets into a sort of holding pattern before fading away to atmospherics which takes us to ‘In a Dark Time’. Bleak windy effects and cosmic whooshes bring up images of a strange alien landscape. In the third minute the mood becomes softer then a jaunty sequence bubbles from the speakers. Lead touches are added, as is a steady rhythm. An even faster sequence falls into formation alongside the first then we get some exquisite melodic stabs that hit the spot perfectly. Further tuneful lead lines come in, one answering the other. Absolutely wonderful – the best track on the album so far.
    ‘Serpents of the Den’ returns us to the water-dripping cave along with more atmospherics and narration.
    ‘Flowing with Birds’ carries on then the pace quickens on the back of a splashing sequence. A slow rhythm comes in providing just the right structure over which floats a lovely delicate melody.
    ‘The Mind Enters Itself’ continues in similar mood but this time the sequences seem to be more urgent. Additional sequencer lines and rhythms then come in increasing the excitement still further.
    More narration and a sudden crash seem to conclude the story but leave us with one final track, ‘Drifting’. Initially it is all you would expect with a title such as that but in the third minute sequences and then rhythms surge forward. Excellent leads, one after another, complete the picture superbly.

    Another highlight.

    2005. DL

  2. Phil Derby / Electroambient Space

    After a long respite, Pyramid Peak is back with Caveland.

    The title track begins with water dripping in a cave. Soft textures of sound float around for a few minutes before the first sequencing arrives. A voice speaks in the background, reading the poem that appears on the inside booklet, which is also read in parts at various points in other tracks. The music slowly builds as the poem continues. After the four stanzas are read, the narrator goes back to the middle and reads again. I think it would have been a little better to stop after the first reading and go fully into the music and build from there, but its still a reasonably strong beginning.
    Abstract restless electronic bleeps, blurps and static fill the air to begin Beasts of the Hill.” Just before the 3:00 mark lush pads come in that totally make me think of more recent offerings by Klaus Schulze. The track develops in a beautifully understated fashion

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *