Remotion – Between fiction and reality


Released: 2001 By Groove Unlimited

3 in stock

SKU: GR-061 Categories: , Tag:


  1. Deep Down Under [9:00]MP3 soundclip of Deep down under [3:00]
  2. Red Or Blue [10:04]
  3. Between Fiction And Reality [14:34]MP3 soundclip of Between fiction and reality [3:00]
  4. Echoes From Another Dimension [12:47]MP3 soundclip of Echoes from another dimension [3:00]
  5. Jules’ Journey [8:13]
  6. Perception Of Time [9:56]
  7. Science [6:19]

Last copies gone is gone

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

6 reviews for Remotion – Between fiction and reality

  1. Bert Strolenberg / Sonic Immersion

    Remotion is the Dutch duo Richard Stuij and Arjan Steenbergen, who recorded the music of this album live in the studio without using computer sequencers.
    Richard took care of composing and performing the music, while Arjan did the engineering job next to adding additional drums and effects. Although recorded back in 2001, the music of Between Fiction and Reality” still sounds fresh and exciting this very day.


  2. Matt Howarth

    This debut CD by Remotion (aka Dutchmen Richard Stuij, who does the composing and overall performing, and Arjan Steenbergen, who supplies engineering and additional drums and effects) features 71 minutes of relaxing electronic music shot with edge and powerful rhythmic sensibilities.Inspired by Berlin School roots, Remotion spurn computer sequencing. Their live-in-studio recordings rely upon nimble fingers and appealing melodies. E-perc plays a delicious part in that structure, propelling the dreamy passages into more dynamic territory with sinuous and alluring tempos that remain subdued despite their motivational purpose. Sighing tones of a peaceful nature tremble in the wind, soaring on breezes stirred by a slow-building core of melodic chords and fanciful riffs. By the time the percussive enter, the listener is lulled and primed for a journey into livelier regions. Borne on this rhythmic foundation, active keyboards ooze into the mix to unfurl complex riffs that intertwine with each other, generating a lush panorama of compelling tuneage. Upon achieving an emotional euphoria, the sonic mass dwindles, receding into minimal codas that bridge each separate track.While each track exemplifies a compositional command, producing interesting melodies that tickle the mind with their playful nature.

    2001. Matt Howarth

  3. J. ten Napel / Nederland

    Pas in 2008 heb ik (meteen 2!De tweede is een kado voor een vriend) dit plaatje gekocht. In mijn oren is dit het beste Nederlandse product op muziekgebied sinds Johan Timman! Op dit plaatje hoor ik sferen la Wollo met tch die typies Nederlandse touch. Ga zo door Richard en Arjen zou ik zeggen. Kudos!!

    2008. J. ten Napel / Nederland

  4. Fabrice Baudinot / France

    For me the best album of these ten last years.

    2007. Fabrice Baudinot / France

  5. R. Verdel /NL

    Stuij & Steenbergen bring us a completely different style on this album than their predecessor from Liveform. I must admit this is my favorite combination of sequences and rhythms. This style is clearly heard throughout the album.

    Actually the only track that differs from this is Echoes From Another Dimension where a piece of rest and quietness is introduced. The rest of the songs are build around sublime sequencelines with steady rhythms.
    Deep Down Under starts with a sort of gas pump sound where the rhythms slowly fade in and an excellent sequenceline plays with an electronic guitar. This song is absolutely into the Remotion style.
    What I like about the transition to track 2 is that the previous song doesn’t stop at once but slowly transforms into the next song.
    Red Or Blue is a great song which introduces a nice groovy rhythm with sequence and a chorus-piano.
    Between Fiction and Reality starts with an electronic piano part followed by a dark synth bass and mystic strings. The song evolves with a galaxy-style sequence and steady rhythms to nearly 15 minutes!
    Jules’Journey has this fantastic rhythm with a bell-sounding sequence line and near the end is an excellent guitar phrase played (probably played on keyboards I guess). This song truely breathes the emotion.
    Perception Of Time starts off with strings and flows into a bell-style sequence underbuild with a great rhythm and improvised solo drums. What more can I say but a great track this is.
    Science has a mystic intro and a sort of airbells are heard, drums are improvised again and the song has a sort of sad element. Very nice track.

    Again this album is the true favorite of my collection where sequencelines and great rhythms are combined with a precise accuracy.
    If you like the combination of this then don’t wait and order your copy now !

    2005. R. Verdel /NL

  6. Gwydion Elderwyn / Australia

    I can hardly believe this is their first album, it is such an accomplished piece of work. I was so impressed with this CD I sent the one I had bought to a friend and ordered another copy for myself!
    If you like sequence-based electronica with imagination and depth, this is one artist and album you should definitely not go past. Any future work of theirs will automatically be on my shopping list 🙂

    2003. Gwydion Elderwyn / Australia

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *