Robert Scott Thompson – Frontier


Released: 2007 By Aucourant Records

1 in stock

SKU: 18830 Category: Tag:


  1. Cloud Fragments [5:38]
  2. Lumina [6:01]
  3. Frontier [8:12]
  4. A Magma of Interiors [6:24]
  5. Submerged [7:13]
  6. Fragile Light [7:08]
  7. Visage Spectral [5:56]
  8. Whisper out of Time [6:37]
  9. Nine Chains to the Moon [3:33]
  10. Nirhoda [4:58]
  11. Nightfall [6:00]
  12. Bricolage [4:36]

The landmark follow-up CD to The Silent Shore. Frontier quickly became a favorite of critics and connoisseurs alike a classic.

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

2 reviews for Robert Scott Thompson – Frontier

  1. eter Thelen Expose

    After you’ve listened to The silent shore: Fortunately, its quality will have you returning for more. Better yet is his newest release, Frontier”

  2. ary Andrews Sequences No. 21, UK

    It does not seem that long ago that I reviewed Robert’s previous release ”The Silent Shore”, it’s ambient textures making a immediate impression. ‘Cloud Fragments’ opens the proceedings with a relaxing refrain, sounds that ebb and flow. Comparisons with Steve Roach are inevitable, but this guy pulls it off in some style. ‘Lumina’ displays a darker edge, deep resonances, and discordant chords that power through the music. The impending feeling of uneaseness is kept for ‘A Magma of Interiors’, just which horror soundtrack is Robert aiming for?!

    ‘Submerged’ enters the fray, again a disjointed series of synth voices sounds through, before some form of order begins to take shape, and a fairly smooth ending finishes the track. As it’s title suggests ‘Fragile Light’ contains a gentle cyclic theme, as the sleeve notes say,”A soothing, gentle atmosphere.” It has to be understood that the albums tracks segues into each other, for in it’s essence Frontier is a one continuous musical collage, each separate track working off the next. Compared with Roberts ”The Silent Shore” I feel that ”Frontier” is the more focused album. The traditional ambient elements are all here in abundance, any fans of Steve Roach’s drifting/floating pure electronic style, should be well rewarded upon listening to this disc.
    I look forward to hearing more from Robert in the future.

    1999 Gary Andrews Sequences No. 21, UK

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *