Ron Boots – See beyond times and look beyond words

 8,90 11,90

Released: 2008 By Groove Unlimited

SKU: GR-149 Categories: , , , , Tag:


  1. Hour of the Wolf [15:52]MP3 soundclip of The hour of the wolf [3:00]
  2. A Walk in the Rain [13:31]
  3. Boellistian [12:08]
  4. Storms Over IO [12:25]
  5. Harbours [2:27]
  6. Radar [8:24]MP3 soundclip of Radar [3:00]
  7. We are Off [5:44]MP3 soundclip of We are off [3:00]

Bombastic as ever with even a ‘symfo’ feel

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

4 reviews for Ron Boots – See beyond times and look beyond words

  1. Phil Derby / Electroambient Space

    Ron Boots‘ latest solo offering is really a group effort, with several musician friends lending a hand, from Gert Emmens synth solos to the drumming of Harold van der Heijden and more. The extra elements from this ensemble cast add an extra dash of variety, with Ron providing the strong underlying atmosphere and sequencing throughout.

    Hour of the Wolf” starts in dreamy mode

  2. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

    Obscure loops minimalisms are stumbling pitch in the misty corridors of a dreamlike hypnosis.
    Immerged cosmic waves, these circles become more aerated rambling under a single pulsation which wanders among consistent synth layers borrowing the perfume of a soft vocal breeze.

    Hour off the Wolf wakes up on a heavy rhythm which undulates among synth glares truffles of heavy resonances. Gert Emmens inspired and tortuous solos rolled up around a louder structure, Hour off the Wolf is a fabulous preamble to an artist which exploits EM as harmonious as progressive, per moments daring.Amateur of science fiction and prolific composer, Ron Boots is also founder of the Groove label. For this reason it is implied thoroughly in the productions of its label by producing the majority of the albums there, with the same heat and same passion as its original works. See Beyond Times And Look Beyond Words is its 38th creation. A quality opus with a lot of musical research, as we discovers several at Groove, with artists and friends of Ron Boots which came to show their skill over a dynamic music which explores as much Berlin School retro as the new one.
    After an intro as much ethereal than multicoloured, Walk in the Rain hiccoughs on acoustic guitar riffs trying to bite a fleeing tempo. Rhythm progression is soft but constant. Without really know it we are immersed by solos of a very corrosive guitar and a synth with acuity quite as strong on matching percussions. Boellistian is a pure Berlin School retro ballad that starts with a spacey mood on short echotic waves and heavy drones. A good minimalist track that progresses on a synth to floating solos and a gently jerking bass structure.
    Storms over Io passes from calm galactic to electronic frenzy by an intro tinted of a Schulze cosmic greyness. A nervous base line activates the beat which is wander under a mellotron choir, surrounded by fluttering cymbals. The tempo hems in cascade multiplying its speed with aggressive percussions and a daring keyboard which propels innumerable solos.
    A short cosmic fairytale Harbours is also a short introduction to the sublime Radar and its sober intro which hesitates over a piano with minimalists keys which are rolled up around a fairy-like ballerina. A beautiful title. A kind of bolero to staccato passages slowed down by arpeggios of a grievous violoncello and which explodes of powerful solos. Not a second lost. An excellent title which eats the ear and which is not without pointing out the good moments of Richard Pinhas and Georges Grumblatt. I say it to you; it is the kind of title which will charm for weeks.
    We are Off concludes with a lighter approach. Beautiful synth pop with futuristic arrangements and a catchy melody by a sequenced keyboard in legato chords and good guitar solos.

    Ron Boots See Beyond Times And Look Beyond Words is a superb album of diversified EM. Great old Berlin School mixed with new one on musical structures made to exploits the skill of his synth friends. Another great work.

    2008. Sylvain Lupari / Guts Of Darkness

  3. Seppe / Belgium

    From what I’ve heard of We are off” it has such a big potential to become a “dance” track.
    Ask DJ Thijs for a remix and add it to the upcoming cd

  4. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

    This CD from 2008 offers 70 minutes of dramatic electronic music.
    Assisting synthesist Boots are several electronic guests: Gert Emmens, Harold van der Heijden, Henri Peeters, Paul Ellis, Martijn Ruissen, and Frank van Bogaert.
    This music represents a taste of Boots‘ homage to some of his favorite authors (Jack Vance, Roger Zelazny, Stephen King, M.K. Wren, J.R.R. Tolkien) and as such the tunes feature a high level of drama–and quite delightful drama it is too.

    The character of this music is often grandiose, stately and heroic. The electronics achieve a demonstrative posture, gripping and bewitching, and this level is then embellished with further glory. Keyboards establish compelling riffs amid luminous pastiches of atmospheric textures, riffs that surge and erupt with vigor, riffs that evolve and transform into magnificent complexity. A sense of urgency is frequently dominant in these compositions, delivering a flair rich with tension and expectancy.
    Boots‘ electronics exhibit a certain bouncy character that can be quite addictive, especially when buoyed by his dreamy tonalities. While some looping is utilized, the riffs have a tendency to expand as auxiliary chords accrete, escalating the melodies in wondrous fashion.
    Percussion is present in some of the songs, and these animated rhythms add to the music’s overall majesty. The tempos become compulsive and masterful, providing lustrous locomotion.
    Guitar appears in a few tracks, with strummed strings contributing a romantic air and astral pyrotechnics scorching lasting impressions across the listeners; cerebellum.

    A thoroughly dazzling album.

    2009. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *