Simon Lomax (formerly Maitreya) – .74 (point seven four)


Released: 2005 By Council of Nine

3 in stock

SKU: COFN005CD Category: Tags: ,


1. Escent 04:58
2. Azure 05:43
3. Pulse and Beat 04:58
4. Insula 06:14
5. Sere 05:05
6. Isolat 08:45
7. St. Michael’s Tower 04:36
8. Aurora 09:49

nspired by location and time .74 (point seven four) is a warm and animate landscape of rich atmospheres moved by a swell and pulsing of sound. With the beautiful depths and resonance of escent, the glitchy, hypnotic repetition of pulse and beat and the mellow pads of aurora, this album is a satisfying and cohesive whole, featuring the Maitreya sound that is becoming so well recognised.

What people are saying

“Simon Lomax’s third release for this specialist label, dedicated to “contemporary atmospheric music”, maintains a deep ritual stasis throughout. Aside from the majestic solo violin emerging from opener “Escent” and the waning two-note pulse of “St Michael’s Tower”, this is all sustained distances and rich reverberations, blurring into protracted pieces”
The Wire – Feb 2005

“.74 is a carefully molded piece of slowly unfolding atmospheres and emotions, in which the ebb and flow of sound textures feels very natural. At times its hypnotizing and elevating, but also stays earthbound. Experiencing this repetitive ambient music with some occasional pulse sounds, glitch and fx’s is hard to put into words. It’s like a massage for the mind and very relaxing and holistic one as well. It especially works great when using headphones. Both production & mastering of the album are stunning, so what more can a hardcore ambient fan ask for?”

released February 4, 2004

Additional information

Weight 105 g





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Simon Lomax (formerly Maitreya) – .74 (point seven four)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *