Tangerine Dream – Chandra – Phantom ferry part I


Released: 2009 By Eastgate Music

Available on backorder

SKU: 76465 Categories: , Tag:


  1. Approaching Greenland At 7 pm
  2. The Moondog ConnectionMP3 soundclip of Moondog connection [3:00]
  3. Screaming Of The Dreamless Sleeper
  4. The Unknown Is The Truth
  5. The Dance Without Dancers
  6. Child Lost In Wilderness
  7. Sailor Of The Lost Arch
  8. Verses Of A Sisong
  9. Silence On A Crawler Lane

Atmospheric sounds with a good part of experimental eruptions and well structured harmonies

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

3 reviews for Tangerine Dream – Chandra – Phantom ferry part I

  1. rattymouse

    The first five tracks are really good in my opinion – the opening track is nice and upbeat, a kind of follow on stylistically from the new tracks on the Flame cupdisc.
    I think tracks 2, 3 and 4 are perhaps more of a departure for Edgar, and are really good: A little darker than usual, definitely the high point of his recent work.
    It goes off the boil at this point though. My opinion of the second half of the album is that every song reminds you of other tracks done previously, like outtakes from the Nagasaki series.
    Child Lost In Wilderness” at 7 minutes meanders badly (it’s the only one I actively dislike) and generally outstays its welcome by about 5 minutes (whilst the fantastic 2nd track “The Moondog Connection” is less than 4 minutes). None more so than the final track which is a remix of a track that originally appeared on Beyond the Storm and then reappeared on the Ambient Highway – which could mean it’s a remix of a remix. Nice enough though.

    I like the album

  2. Alberto Quer

    Soy un fan acerrimo de mr. Froese y me parece que ha habido un cambio considerable en este disco me gusta y mucho me parece un genio solamente la ultima cancion la podia haber sustituido por otra mas nueva ya que tiene capacidad para componer todo lo que quiera bravo edgar.

    2009. Alberto Quer

  3. Jacob Pertou

    It took its time to gather my thoughts about this specific work, which arguably made some peoples blood boil, but with a certain consensus that it won by further listening. The first impression it had on yours truly was a seriously dull, almost impression less album, more like a sign of stagnation. As it came closer, it made me almost furious, as I thought it was an inane interruption in the bands otherwise so creative and listenable development. So I put the album on the shelf for a little weeks time. And after this hiatus from the cd player, our mutual chemistry was more sympathetic, and I felt my reactions became more sustainable and therefore valid enough to put on a Tangerine Dream blog. But still the accompanying story seems to me deeply uninteresting. Its written by Edgar Froese in his intricate, and anything but straight manner, and has a theme on higher consciousness. Its a bit like listening to David Lynch talk about transcendental meditation, when all you want to hear is about the origin of Twin Peaks. It becomes too abstract and uninteresting. And when you are lectured by life from outer space, in the booklet, that we human beings are lower individuals, because we eat meat from animals, it becomes almost hilarious. So for a simple person like me (who previously enjoyed the literary models for various Tangerine Dream albums) I resign on the concept completely, this time. Whats left is the music. And I must confess that the best is saved for first.

    Approaching Greenland At 7 PM: An epic piece with sequencer kicks off the album with a bang. Theres no doubt that Edgar Froese (only musician on Chandra) has something on his mind. Its static synth rock with a regular drive and a gradual expansion of energy. Theres also room for a playful percussion fill, to underline what a sophisticated track it is. A brilliant album- and (possibly) concert opener. 8/10
    The Moondog Connection: In my ears, this a half-finished composition, which ends prematurely. Its like the beginning of three quarters with Klaus Schulze, where it just fades out, before the sequencers has a chance to greet each other properly, and the destination less solos could act as a connecting link. 7/10
    Screaming Of The Dreamless Sleeper: Rather boring, but not without a certain aura of mystique. More shape than substance. 4/10
    The Unknown Is The Truth: Sound collage mode is on. There are many impressions here, but very few are stored in the memory. A state of dream becomes urgent, and the coherence crumbles. The ranking is based on the atmosphere, rather than the musical quality. 7/10
    The Dance Without Dancers: With a sneak preview in the TDOC (Tangerine Dream Online Club), and many listens, one could think that this track was leading in my consciousness and the reason I like it the best. I don’t think that is the case. I seriously think its the best on this album. One could be led to believe that Edgar has found a basic track from either the Tatort episode Miriam (1983) or Heartbreakers (1985) and added some substantial finish. And good it is. Absurdly good! 9/10
    Its now that many (including myself) think it goes downhill for Chandra:
    Child Lost In Wilderness: Shallow synthesizer music, build on chords with sporadic vocoder. The prime example of Edgar Froese music without other peoples objections. Certainly. 4/10
    Sailor Of The Lost Arch: Takes up the thread from Screaming of the Dreamless Sleeper” in its form

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *