Tangerine Dream – Mota atma


Released: 2003 By WHD

Available on backorder

SKU: 36253 Categories: , Tag:


  1. The Courage to Lose
  2. For the Summit Only
  3. No Pleasure No Pain
  4. Royal Way of Privacy
  5. Phoenix Burning
  6. Prophet in Chains
  7. Snow on Angels Feather
  8. A Fair Days Wage
  9. Brain Offender
  10. A Day in Liberty Valley

HiQualityCD. Froese, Froese. Motion picture soundtrack

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Mini LP Cover

3 reviews for Tangerine Dream – Mota atma

  1. Frdric Yargui

    The 1st track (The courage to lose) begins with those pads which also began some tangentized tracks of the early years (I think it is journey through a burning brain or origin of liquid pleiads… not sure) then some beats come bass line too (it sounds like a macula transfer remix) then more sounds (hihat and sfx) come… I love this track : great for trance (the structure reminds me also how pinnacles was built). The track time is 8:03 but I would have heard hours of it :-))

    For the summit (#2) has a same structure IMO, nice too (7:57 length) I have a same feeling as for Oasis soundtrack.

    No pleasure No pain (#3) starts with drums as if it were the continuation of track #2. There is no explosion” like in #1. Cool 5:51 track

    Royal Way of Privacy (#4) same structure as #1 but with sequenced lines only: no percussion. 8:38

    Phoenix Burning (#5) 7:35 same structure as #4

    Prophet in chains begins with a synth pattern that will repeat again and again during the first 3:45… too much for me – I remember having skipped this track because of this. Luckily

  2. Michael A. Jean

    The music on this CD evolves and develops in a more traditional TD style around a unifying theme / sequencer pattern. The sounds emerge and dissolve from the mix, rather than making abrupt shifts in direction in the middle of the piece as has sometimes been the case in other recent releases. I really fumbled about trying to describe of classify this disc because it is unique. While it has qualities that other people have mentioned (Tibet, Oasis, Schulze) I would go so far as to call it something of a mix between Quinoa and Poland. It is hard to explain the latter choice other than some of the phrasing are reminiscent of the mid 80s period. It might be similar to MANDALA if that ever see the light of day!

    The theme keeps resurfacing throughout the generous 71 minute disc to the point that I really couldn’t tell which track I was listening towithout looking at the player. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing is subjective. However the constant return of this theme providedreassurance of a some sort of constant; a basic element like the air or water, or the return of the sun each day in the biblical creation story.It felt both meditative and energizing at the same time. While it doesn’t contain any tracks that might prompt you to tear off your headphones and tell someone they HAVE to hear this, it is an enjoyable solid release. I don’t think it should generate any tirades of serious complaints among fans (except for the constant critics among us).

    I will say is that does sound better on headphones than in my car stereo. Also, because it is such a unified piece, the breaks/fades between track almost seem artificial. I might be an improvement if the tracks had simply been indexed and flowed together, rather than havingactual breaks in the music. Alternatively, you could view each track as a remix. ;^)

    2003. Michael A. Jean

  3. Jacob Pertou / Denmark

    Mota Atma is a static acquaintance, which also is the reason, you the need to be a big fan to enjoy the music. There is no focus on variation, but there is a reason off course, as the music works a soundtrack documentary.
    The actual structure in the music is based on monotonous sequences, with random(?) synths on top. It’s heard so many times before (I especially think about Astral Voyager from Green Desert), and not done in a interesting and listenable way.Actually, the sound is pretty outdated, like we’re back in 1986/1987. This retro sound is quite entertaining, and only proves, that they after all only have kept themselves informed about modern electronic music on the Dream Mixes records.
    The tracks usually last for some 7 or 8 minutes, which feels like a long time, without anything drastic variations. In fact, the first nine tracks are primarily applied to the same yardstick, which means, that none of them stand out, and need further elaboration.The final track, A Day In Liberty Valley, is different, though. First of all, the sound level is notably louder (something I don’t consider as professional studio engineering). Secondly it’s more melodic. (I assume it’s music for the ending credits).
    I don’t think Mota Atma is all that bad, but it is pretty humdrum. There is not creativity enough to satisfy the non-hardcore TD fan. It’s also important to be prepared for listening, so one doesn’t get annoyed by the monotonous music. I recommend, that you lie down on your bed, close your eyes, and relax to the music. That has a soothing, relaxing effect!

    2006. Jacob Pertou / Denmark

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *