Various Artists – Tone Science Module No.9 Theories and Conjectures


Released by DIN – 19th April 2024

12 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: DiNTS09 Categories: , Tag:


Tone Science sub-label, from DiN records, continues to explore the world of modular synth music.

Following the success and critical acclaim of the first eight Tone Science compilation albums,
DiN label boss Ian Boddy has collated another nine tracks from musicians of varying backgrounds working in the realms of modular synthesis.

As the Tone Science journey continues it never ceases to amaze just how varied and individualistic each musicians work can be. Whilst the hardware is technologically based each artist teases out a reflection of their own musical personality.

This volume kicks off with two pointillistic compositions from Loula Yorke and State Azure with intertwining sequencer patterns flowing and coiling around to create ever changing soundscapes.

After this energetic start the next pair of tracks from Theda Electronic Music and Swansither enter calmer, ambient territory where careful sculpting of synthesiser voices creates room for expression and atmosphere.

The mid-point of the album sees Sulk Rooms take us into darker territory with a drone based piece that slowly climbs from the undergrowth like some great creature arising from its slumber.

The next three tracks from Tomorrow The Cure, JacqNoise and Alex Ball are rhythmically based and showcase just how different the feel and energy of music made with modular synths can be with pure tones, deep bass and transient blips respectively.

Finally Michael J. York leads us gently into the distance with a beautiful, shimmering cocoon of blissful sound to close out the album.

“Tone Science Module No.9 Theories and Conjectures” continues the journey down the rabbit hole of possibilities and sound worlds inhabited by artists and musicians working in this ever fascinating and varied musical field.

01 Eala by Loula Yorke 7:44
02 Scanner by State Azure 8:23
03 Per-Bast by Theda Electronic Music 7:24
04 Muad’Dib by Swansither 7:04
05 Grasping The Eye Of The Duck by Sulk Rooms 6:43
06 Minimum by Tomorrow The Cure 6:18
07 Lono by JacqNoise 5:51
08 Adaption by Alex Ball 6:23
09 And They Shall Have Stars by Michael J. York 6:20

Total Time: 62:28

Additional information

Weight 95 g





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Various Artists – Tone Science Module No.9 Theories and Conjectures”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *