Ian Boddy – Slide


Released: 2008 By DiN Records

1 in stock

SKU: 18154 Categories: , , Tag:


  1. The Probability of Doubt [7:14]
  2. Lost and Found [5:46]
  3. Slide [6:57]MP3 soundclip of Slide [1:23]
  4. Tourmaline [7:40]MP3 soundclip of Tourmaline [1:27]
  5. A Moment of Gliss [3:43]
  6. Yesterdays Memories [7:38]
  7. Mechamystical [5:27]
  8. Troubadour [5:01]MP3 soundclip of Troubadour [1:40]
  9. The Possibility of Existence [6:38]

Three beautifully expressive legato pieces and six up-tempo tracks

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case

2 reviews for Ian Boddy – Slide

  1. Kristian Persson / Sweden

    Ian Boddy is a name to remember when you want the best in electronic/experimental electronic music with a touch of early Tangerine Dream sound. It could perhaps best be described as 70’s TD in terms of it’s sound.Ian Boddy always seem to amaze me with each of his releases he cranks out, there is somehow something very fresh and special to his sound. So there is no lack of imagination when Ian is on the experimental side of things. The sound structure is very satisfying and bombastic as well, and most tracks on this disc contains some very nice rhythms with a mysterious & spacious feel to it.

    The start of the disc is quite eerie, almost frightening. But then things lightens up and the flow on the CD only gets better and better!. The rhythm is great and the almost industrial electro sound is made in perfect harmony. And with such variety and the blend of synthesizers he uses there is very little to nothing that can go wrong when Ian is in control.

    If you want some of the best, look no further. This CD is definitely made to please fans of early TD and even some Klaus Schulze fans should have a look at this one. Not to be missed by anybody!
    My warmest recommendations!

    2009. Kristian Persson / Sweden

  2. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

    This CD from 2008 features 56 minutes of sliding electronic music.

    Track one begins with a mixture of belltones and objects jangling in the distance supporting the sound of a (synthesized) slide guitar, and–well–this is sliding through a zone of frigid atmospherics (you can tell its frigid by the way those jangling things exhibit an icy tonality). There a surge of bass opposition, but these forces fall in abeyance when faced with the overall strength of the mutated bells.
    The next piece employs some distinctly thereminesque pitches which summon forth a host of percussives, which in turn open the floodgates for some solid melodics (so far, the tuneage has been pointedly harmonic) as harps cavort with other weirdly stringed sounds. The tune achieves a spry pinnacle before falling prey to those theremin wailings.
    The title track exposes you to some snappy rhythms (crafted with a crisply metallic edge) which propel an interplay between that faux slide guitar and pensive bass pulsations. As the composition progresses, the interplay grows frenetic, impassioned, and eventually the slide wins out as it blossoms into an endearing harmonic.
    Next, pittering rotors and muffled beats descend into a pool of searing chords (its that artificial slide again–do you begin to sense the pattern?) which consequently inch their way into a very mobile and alluring melody…before sinking once more into the pool thats gone cold with shrill ambience.
    Track five is a short one (just under four minutes, compared to the others which average between six and eight). Here, a realm of ponderous bass growls accompany the slide on an upward spiral in search of release–which comes in the form of a softly bubbling explosion.
    Next, the tuneage gets nostalgic and goes motoring down the motorway, chugging and bouncing along with sparkling keyboards punctuated by synth-pop gurgles and techno beats. The slide joins the journey, acting like a beacon and guiding everything toward a complex escalation…before it runs out of gas and coasts to a stop.
    Track seven sends the slide into a region of metallic impacts metered into a catchy rhythm. Friendly (but shrill) electronics try to help the slide, but gritty snarls support the metallics in their efforts to swamp things…forcing the slide to express some space guitar sounds to liberate itself. The conflict has no victor as the songs components retreat In opposite directions.
    In the next piece, Boddy coaxes snappy rhythms to cooperate with the questing slide, resulting in a sprightly excursion of bewitching definition. This catchy coexistence profits all involved, as the slide achieves some stratospheric epiphanies and the beats reach a retro frenzy.
    The last track is an introspective composition in which the slide contemplates its own existence and learns to be ultimately willing to coexist with dreamy keyboards and bass tones.

    Following the bravely synthesized slide on its pilgrimage is a thrilling voyage to behold…but (for those who prefer the music shorn of any whimsical illusions) this album is a decent dose of haunting melodies laced with delightful rhythms.

    2009. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *