Ideation – Adrift


Released: 2009 By Victor J. Rek

Available on backorder

SKU: 84196 Category: Tag:


  1. Function & Disorder [8:56]
  2. Cherry Pie [1:18]
  3. Zeitgeist [10:22]
  4. Unreality [6:12]
  5. Gruber’s Great Aunt [6:26]
  6. Bom Badda Boom [10:17]
  7. Adrift [14:45]MP3 soundclip of Adrift [3:00]

Paul Nagle and Pete Ruczynski (Airsculpture)

Additional information

Weight 105 g




2 reviews for Ideation – Adrift

  1. Chuck van Zyl / STAR’S END

    The parallel narratives of synthesists Paul Nagle and Peter Ruczynski converge under the name Ideation. This duo brings to their CD project Adrift (58’16) the knowledge and background of two seasoned electronic musicians enlivened by the innovation and enthusiasm of a fresh collaboration.

    The movement of the seven tracks is always towards affirmation as the music skips

  2. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

    This release from 2009 offers 58 minutes of sprightly electronic tuneage.
    Ideation is Paul Nagle and Pete Ruczynski (from Airsculpture), with Phil Smillie (on guitar on two tracks).

    Sinuous tunes are crafted by a diverse array of electronics with e-perc lending appropriate oomph.The electronics are extremely diverse. Texturals, keyboards, and inventive effects all contribute to the music. Instead of functioning as backdrops, the tonalities often take up vital positions amid the more substantial elements. The keyboards establish strong riffs that are then cycled to scamper through the busy mix while effects glitter all over the place. Additional riffs are introduced to the mix, resulting in a steadfast stream of bewitching aspects. The gestalt forms melodies of attractive complexity.
    The melodies are busy, but maintain a gentle attitude despite the hyperactivity displayed by their individual sonic components. This contrast of spry elements generating pacific tuneage is quite enthralling.While some e-perc is employed, the majority of rhythms are produced by the swift application of electronic sounds, creating tempos of a non-impact nature. These artificial rhythms enliven the music with constant animation.
    While some vocal effects are featured here and there, theres no lyrical content. The voices serve as clever punctuations.

    The compositions are pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable. Serpentine melodies flourish with a congenial buoyancy seasoned by hordes of engaging embellishments. Theres a subtle psychedelic character to this music.

    2009. Matt Howarth / Sonic Curiosity

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *