Philip Glass – DancePieces


℗ 1982, 1987 CBS Inc./© 1987 CBS Inc.

1 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: BERY93680 Category: Tags: ,


In The Upper Room
Dance I – 1:07
Dance II – 5:39
Dance V – 3:20
Dance VIII – 4:55
Dance IX – 8:05

Glasspiece #1 (“Rubric”) – 6:10
Glasspiece #2 (“Facades”) – 7:16
Glasspiece #3 (“Funeral” From Akhnaten) – 8:49

“Glasspieces” was originally performed in 1983, “In The Upper Room” suite premiered in 1986, and both accompanied a ballet performance. This is the only place you can find the ensemble version of the “Funeral” from ‘Akhenaten’, which was a show-stopper from Glass’s ensemble concerts of the mid-80s. There are a number of musicians on both pieces and “In the Upper Room” includes conductor Michael Riesman on piano and synthesizers. In addition to the keyboardist, there are a number of string, brass, and woodwind players. Although nearly all instrumental music, the additional voice (Dora Ohrenstein) on both pieces gives this works a very nice touch.

Additional information

Weight 105 g



Jewel Case


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Philip Glass – DancePieces”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *